Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office J. Harrell Reid, Sheriff Home Patrol Investigations Contact Corrections Inmate Search Public Records Highlights Scams History Communications Crimestoppers Links
On December 26, 1827 Hamilton County was created the 15th County, along with Madison County, from Jefferson County.  Jefferson County had been created less than a year before from Leon County. Early records of Hamilton County indicated that the following people have held the Office of Sheriff.  (These records are incomplete because Book A of the County Commissioners Records cannot be found at the Courthouse at this time.) Shadrick Sutton 1828 and 1831 John G. Smith 1842-1845 Milton J. Bryan 1845-1846 Josiah Baisden 1846-1847 P. F. Lamar  1847-1848 John G. Smith 1848-1849 Wm. J. J. Duncan 1849-1854 (Deputies Charnick Selph and Robert Ivey) James N. Hendry 1854-1858 (Deputy Levi Starling) Larkin B. McTyier 1858-1859 (Deputy George Cooper) Alexander Bell 1864-1869 Duval Selph 1864-1869 Thos N. Bell 1871 M. L. Duncan 1871 B. F. Collier1873 (Deputy S. L. Taulor) J. H. Lee 1874-1878 Sam Altman 1878 C. C. Parker 1879-1880 James M. Duncan 1881 Sam Altman, Jr.  J. R. Session S. M. Hankins 1882 Sampson Tavell 1882-1889 Stephen S. Sharpe 1890 A. M. Knowles 1892 Thomas Polhill 1892 Thomas Johns 1889-1912 Frank Hancock 1913-1929 W. Rufe Hunter J. H. "Doc" Hunter 1929-1937 Frank Hancock 1937-1941 Eddie McGhin 1941-1949 Brock Allen 1949-1953 George Royals 1953-1957 Charlie Rhoden 1957-1989 J. Harrell Reid 1989-Present
© Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office 2013
207 NE 1st St  Jasper, FL 32052